Being a boomerang kid

One of the recent big changes in my life was moving back to my parents. I lived on my own (that is, with flatmates) for about five years before I left home to travel; afterwards I came back to live here, in a house I don’t even really know because my parents only moved here about a year before I moved out. I still have to open about three kitchen cabinets every time I need a plate and still have to smack all the light buttons to find the one I want to turn on. But even though I don’t know this place very well, it’s home. It’s the place I returned to after I flew out, like a boomerang returning to its origins.

Since I’ve moved back a lot of people have asked me if I like living at home again. The answer is simple: no, I don’t. Of course it’s nice to be around my family more (especially after not seeing them for a long time), but I also had to leave behind my sense of independence. It’s the small things that bother me the most, such as not being able to prepare whatever I want to eat whenever I want to do so. Or the ‘obligation’ to tell my parents where I’m going when I leave the house. I got used to being able to live my life the way I wanted to and even though being here is not horrible, it feels like I’m taking a step back.

Sadly I won’t be able to afford to move out again as long as I don’t have a job. I am not alone in this: the term ‘boomerang kids’ has been around for quite a while and for the past few years there has even been talk of an entire boomerang generation. Life is expensive and finding a job is hard, so we massively return to the nest after studying or travelling. Of course, there are other options. I could start working at a local supermarket (assuming I’d get the job, they might want cheaper employees) and make just about enough money to sustain myself until I find a ‘real’ job. But living with my parents also has its merits. It gives me the opportunity to look for work in many places, while getting my own apartment would force me to find a job close by (unless I want to move again). Living here also gives me a lot more time to look for said job since I’m not occupied with a different one. Maybe I’ll change my mind if I’m stuck here much longer, but right now I think it’s worth it. Sometimes you have to take a step back in order to move forward.

2 thoughts on “Being a boomerang kid

  1. My experience, returning home after extended international travel, is a form of mild depression. The challenges, risks, dangers and excitement of absorbing other cultures loses intensity and velocity. So….I view your situation as a natural consequence and one to accept as impermanent. Take time to reflect on what you learned about yourself during your travel and apply it to your surroundings and relationships. Keep smiling.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

